Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

Being Caroline

1 Comment

Today I am Caroline. Just as it is, no embellishments, no fuss and that is okay with me.

I enjoyed a grand, long train ride the other day and was reflective (As I often am while traveling) and thought about how okay I was with myself at that particular moment. Being Caroline felt just fine.

I had quite a lot of nicknames when I was younger… most of them unpleasant, and they seem like a chronicle of the life and times of me.

Fuzzy/Curly-Wurly: Primary school taunt on account of …. well curly- wurly hair. (Taken to heart in a devastating way and made me feel very sad)

Static: Early high school mocking jibe (Similar to above) with more advanced language content. Made me feel horribly rejected and friendless. (I was)

Koos: Mid high school extra nasty poke and prod meaning Sook spelt backwards. I was a sook on account of early taunting and multiple hair references. This didn’t help. Lots of time crying at school.

Jelly: Early teen years developing breast reference. At least I felt noticed! Awkward when your father calls you this nick-name.

Strange lack of names for later high school years. We grew up and started studying.

Caro: Post university. Trying out a new sense of self. Caro at the time seemed fresh and unencumbered. Later it felt try-hard and inauthentic. It remains persistent and is unappreciated.

CAROLINE: It is my name and I like it. I must have grown into myself somewhere along the line.

No trimmings, no makeup, bare essential me.

Welcome to me.

Green Blessings.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

One thought on “Being Caroline

  1. authentic name, genuine and wonderful person

Leave a Reply

