Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

The Day I got Saved By An Earthworm

Leave a comment

I went on a sabbatical recently. It was called work.

I was quite shocked with the veracity of how I got sucked into the whirl of it all. So for three months I have run my family and been to work, and there wasn’t much time for anything else. And that was okay. Now I am a bit more practiced at juggling all those balls, have found my work groove thang and am back in the game again.
Probably spurred on by a couple of inspired gardening sessions in the rain in the last few weeks. I don’t know what happens, but when those drops pour down in the night, I feel compelled to get out and tinker in the soil. I love that gurgle and giggle as the weeds coming glopping out, with worms hanging on for dear life. We say hello and part good friends.

I have been practicing new spaces over the past three months. Trying to hang on to the beautiful bits of my time off with Alice. I can’t make bread everyday anymore, and stock is infrequent. My house sure isn’t as tidy, but my brain sure is working a bit better.

And I decided that exercise needed to be something I did make time for. So I’ve been dabbling and enjoying Healthy at 44. I’m finding muscles I thought had composted. I rediscovered a waist line I thought had spread like some Exxon disaster. There is also this new passenger called self respect. I’m learning to like it.

Sometimes I still feel like it’s all too much, but my time spent playing with herbs and ritual and the goddess; and cooking and connecting with my community have all served me well. I feel grounded. I feel kind of optimistic. I feel blessed.

And I just can’t wait for my next wet, wet, wet gardening sojourn.

Green Blessings.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

