Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

The day the house ate my Zen

Leave a comment

Tim Burton and I had a tête-à-tête at his exhibition yesterday. Marvellous, inspiring and overwhelming! By the time I left my eyes were spinning like those spirals that feature frequently in his movies.

When my daughter and I arrived home, we both had a similar reaction to our day. She removed everything from her busy top shelf in her room, and put three items on it in a very artful and considered manner. I tore through the house yelling what can I throw out? Quite a few hours later I am still going. TOO MUCH STUFF.

I am constantly taking STUFF to the op-shop, putting things on Ebay or selling things. Still my cuppeth runneth over. Too much. How does it happen? I have some stuff rules. Something comes in, something goes out. The stuff fights back though and creeps in when I’m sleeping or recreating. If you lose vigilance for a minute you have seven toasters that came from your late great aunts estate, and 42 pairs of stockings that are ALL fabulous and required for a specific occasion.

And then there is the gifted STUFF. This is tricky for me as I aim to be polite and keep myself nice. I hate saying thanks but no thanks, or I don’t think that will go in my house, or ‘OMG that is disgusting’. Sometimes other people’s need to purchase stuff to fulfill their needs, spills over to mine. I wish I could just take a deep breath and say STOP IT RIGHT NOW!

This does not imply a lack of gratitude. I have been gifted some extraordinary gifts at the most opportune moments. Yesterday a girlfriend bought me a gorgeous lacy top from a Recycled shop in just my size and color tones. It fits like a glove and makes me feel lovely. NICE. I have been gifted books from my wish list when I’ve almost wept with joy at the rightness of the gifts. And sometimes the sheer unexpectedness of a well-timed gift, is a gift in itself. It’s what to do with all the not so right things. The ‘special’ wedding gift that doesn’t go or feel right anywhere. I tend to hang on for a while and then move it on.

So how to tactfully manage STUFF and important relationships is super tangly.

I am a big fan of experience gifts, or non stuff presents for people. Tickets to a show they would like to see or afternoon tea somewhere super special. I also love food gifts, especially for foodies. Gorgeous olive oils, local produce and even home-grown hampers. People seem to appreciate them and they don’t create space wars. And of course I always like to check with someone if there is something people would particularly like. Everyone has a secret wish list.

So today I’m looking around my house at what else needs to be further culled. Nothing is safe or sacrosanct.

As I plan my return to work soon, I am getting out the light saber and cutting through the unneccessary debris, and creating room for…..? Who knows what space might create?

Green Blessings.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

