Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

Baba’s Brew: Elderberry Syrup

Leave a comment

Popped down to the local establishment for some supplies for my witchy brews. I was out of stock after a summer where wild crafting 101 was replaced with baby caring 101.

Kim from Purple Sage the local health food shop in Kyneton is a gentle wise woman who shares my passion for health and healing, so I enjoy comparing notes with her. She had suggested a couple of things for my sleep compromised health, and I swapped recipes and ideas with her. Kim makes a rose hip syrup using a fluid extract (That would be a lot easier on the fingers than wild-crafting rose hips with their sneaky prickly bits. We also share a notion that health care shouldn’t be complicated. Why get some fancy tonic, when you can get some simple things locally (if you don’t grow or pick your own)?

I got some dried Elderberries for an immune kicking syrup I like to call Baba Brew. It is divine to cook up, the smell of the Elderberries seeping into the crevices.

Recipe:

Put 1/2 cup of dried Elderberries into a pot.

Cover with 3 cups of water.

Heat to boiling, and then reduce to a gentle simmer/

After half and hour or there abouts, smush up the berries.

Pour through a muslin cloth or strainer.

Add 1 cup of local honey to the strained liquid, and stir until dissolved. (Don’t boil this up again or you’ll wreck you honey!)
Cinnamon or ginger can also be added. See Mrs Grieves, Modern Herbal for more information.
Store in the fridge for up to a couple of months.
Enjoy spoonfuls to ward off beasties, bugs and boggles. (Not the under 2’s though or they might turn into a boggle).
Could also be enjoyed on your desserts, or even heated up with some hot water for a refreshing potion.

Baba’s brew is chock full of antioxidants, Vitamins A and C, bioflavonoids. Made mind fully, it’s also full of Magic. Its good for fevers and colds and tastes scrumdidliumptious.

I also got some dandelion and burdock root, Echinacea purpura and cardamom pods to try an immune chai I saw on learningherbs.com More on that one later.

For now I’m going for a sip of my brew.

Green Blessings.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

