Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

A Winter Solstice Stock Take

Leave a comment

This year I met the Winter Solstice with a little more reticence than usual. I felt a little bleak and my fun dial needed to be reset! A stock take was in order. So a dark night contemplation led to a desire to

Decongest!
De-clutter !
Desist !

Congestion a gathering or accumulation; a heap or pile. I certainly have a few of those. I can easily rationalise them away. I mean I have a baby for goodness sake, but in reality Heaps Happen, and I have to work hard to prevent and shift them. CONSTANTLY.

I awoke congested but action driven. As we move towards the light, I embrace…

Less of

Chocolate and other sweeties
Clutter
Traffic
Queues
Stressing
Busyness
Collections

More of

Yoga
Breathing
Taking stock physically and metaphorically
Healthful ways
centering
Resting
Just enough

This list translated into a few tangible actions today.

1. Immune building witches brew : A trip to the health food shop for a few missing ingredients. See tomorrows post on my makings.

2. Organise a baby break: A friend is dropping over tomorrow so I can head to the community garden for a nature frolic.

3. Shedding stuff number 4327. How many Noah’s Ark books does a gal need? I mean I love that story but I have 18 versions of it (including the P.Ç Norah’s Ark feminist version which is way cool) Culled to 4 favorites.

4. Moving towards the lightt: Do you know how much we rely on black to wear? I am taking on the anti black challenge after reading an article on the American Witch Blog by Annie Ridley.

“After dressing primarily in black for nearly four decades, without even realizing it, I’d become so attached to the color that I couldn’t imagine not wearing it. What if, like any addiction, it was also beginning to interfere with the fullest living of my life? I decided to try an experiment which shocked me by how novel and radical it would be: I would not wear black for a week and see how it felt. . .”

Embracing the Anti black challenge

So Decongest, De-clutter and Desist today. You might feel a whole lot lighter.

Coming soon: Elderberry Brew, The No Black Challenge and Winter Garden Frolics.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

