Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

The Red Shoes

Leave a comment

Whimsy today! And when I think Whimsy I think RED shoes.

Carrie Bradshaw had great shoes. Dorothy of course had great shoes. What is it about shoes that resonates with us so much? Did you know that the most women over 50 said their favourite shoe color was red. Shoes aren’t just shopping fodder. They are archetypal images.


Years ago I was asking a lot of questions about my own life. I met an amazing Canadian Elder who talked me through my funk and suggested I needed to consult the Ancestors. Hey that has to be better than therapy right?

She suggested a guided meditation. I was to stand in my shoes metaphorically and visually step back into the shoes of my maternal grandmother, then her mother, then her mother, as many generations as I liked. Listen to the wisdom each women offered and bring it forth into my life. This was a powerful exercise for me and I ended up writing a series of short stories based on them. Fourth generation back I hit a beautiful pair of vermillions. Dancing shoes they were with a sweet gold buckle.

In this personal story, I was definitely dancing to the beat of my own drum. There was a cost though. People didn’t understand. I was odd, eccentric and to some degree ostracized. It does take power to be yourself and risk being different. And there is the danger you will dance yourself to a tragic end like in Hans Christian Anderson’s, The Red Shoe story.

I try to carry this knowledge with me daily. I Can be different. I Can wear the quintessential red shoe. I Can dance wildly and wickedly at the bus stop. I just need to remember that not everyone is as happy with glee as I might be, and that I might get few strange looks in the supermarket, while tip-tapping next to the frozen peas.

I am currently without red shoes in my life. I wore a pair out while pregnant last year. The pair below is on my wish list.

So at the moment I’m dancing on the inside.

Green (or Red Blessings)

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

