Greenwitchaustralia's Blog

A little bit dress up, a little bit of green magic…

Soup, Soil and Salute to the Sun

Leave a comment

Yesterday my head was bonkers. So many ‘thinks’, I thought I might implode. One of the great things about 3 months of new and exciting blogging is that my mind is bursting with possibility. So many things to explore, learn, investigate. Freight train rattles through my head. Think that’s a Bernard Fanning song. Uh Oh!

I realised that in embracing a new skill, I had neglected other bits of the shop and the consequence was Monday Mania. A gentle rethink was in order. Breath.

Centering after writing is crucial for me to travel well. One days blog boycott required.

I give thanks to the grounding activities of soup, soil and saluting the sun.

Soup

Kitchen goddestry happens when I want to get all Earth Mothery. I light a candle on the kitchen altar and say a blessing.


I often use the Celtic Blessing for Hearth-Keepers.

Brighid of the Mantle, encompass us,
Lady of the Lambs, protect us,
Keeper of the Hearth, kindle us.
Beneath your mantle, gather us.
And restore us to your memory.

Mothers of our mother,
Foremothers strong,
guide our hands in yours,
Remind us how
To kindle the hearth,
To keep it bright,
To preserve the flame.
Your hands upon ours,
Our hands within yours,
To kindle the light,
Both Day and night.

The Mantle of Brighid about us,
The Memory of Brighid within us,
the Protection of Brighid keeping us
From harm, from ignorance, from heartlessness.

This day and night,
From dawn till dark.
From dark till dawn.

Minestrone, Napoli Sauce, Inspired Pea and Ham soup (Beautiful Istra happy pigs) and stewed apples. Happy household. Mmmmmm.

Soil
I started to blog and forgot to turn the compost. Well blogging wasn’t totally responsible. There was the sick child 1, sick child 2, sick husband and life. With the inclement weather my compost wasn’t thriving. Dig, dig, dig and turn. Needs more heat. Some poultry manure is in order. The pile is back on track, and so am I . Toil is good for bonkers brains.

Salute to the Sun

One of the beautiful things I’ve learnt in yoga is that it’s not just the asanas (or stretches for the uninitiated) that are important. It is the return to centre and breath that come with it. I love the feeling of my over vibrating central nervous system stilling and calming. I come home unrecognisable to my family, all peace, love and mung beans. I adore Monday nights. Salute to the sun was very powerful, and helped get me out of my head and back into my body. Namaste.

I feel much better now, and more entitled to Blog. Just have to watch out for Bloggers Brain.

Green Blessings.

P.S Coming up in an installment soon… The Baba Yaga’s Socks. Te he.

Author: greenwitchaustralia

I am inhabited by an eclectic disinhibited woman who dresses how she pleases. She doesn't always agree with the plant woman in me who likes to potter in the garden. They are both me and I am okay with that.

Leave a Reply

